## Mexican Politics—EVOLUTION OF POLITICAL INSTITUTIONS

- o Political Instability, 1821-1860
  - General Antonio Lopez de Santa Ana
  - Liberal and Conservatives
  - 50 presidencies, 35 led by army officers
  - U.S.-Mexican War, 1846-48, "War of the North American Invasion"
  - 1848 Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo
  - 1853 Gadsden Purchase
- o La Reforma
  - 1857 Constitution
  - Benito Juarez (1860+)
  - French and Maximilian (1862)—defeated 1867
  - 1876—Porfirio Diaz rebels and assumes power
- o *Porfiriato*, 1876-1910
  - "Administration over Politics"
  - *cientificos*, positivists, Jose Limantour
  - foreign investment and exports of raw materials
  - Political repression (*rurales*)
  - 1900 strikes
  - 1908 interview
  - June, 1910 election
- o Revolution, 1910-1920
  - PBS DVD and material: *The Storm That Swept Mexico*
  - 1910, Francisco Madero jailed and escaped, *Plan de San Luis Potosi*
  - May, 1911, Diaz resigns
  - October, 1911, Madero elected—"unleashed a tiger and could not control it"
  - Emiliano Zapata in Morelos
  - Pancho Villa in the north
    - In Pursuit of Pancho Villa
    - Villa and Columbus, New Mexico
  - February, 1913—counter-revolution—Victoriano Huerta—Madero killed—U.S. complicity
  - Zapata, Villa, and Venustiano Carranza rebel
  - Soldaderas
  - Wilson and Veracruz
  - July, 1914—Huerta resigns—Villa and Zapata briefly in Mexico City
  - Late-1915—Alvaro Obregon (under Carranza) defeats Villa
  - Carranza in power—U.S. recognition
  - Villa—Columbus, New Mexico—Pershing
  - 1917 Constitutional Convention at Queretaro—secularization, state subsoil rights, expropriation, labor rights
  - Zapata killed by Carranza forces in 1919

- Carranza killed by followers of Obregon in 1920
- Revolution is over
- o Era of Consolidation, 1920-40
  - 1920-24--Obregón--consummate politician
  - 1924-28--Calles--Cristero rebellion
  - 1928--Obregón killed
  - Calles decides: (1) no re-election; (2) PNR
  - 1928-34--3 Calles puppets
  - 1934-40--Lázaro Cárdenas--independent--Calles exiled—agrarian reform—nationalizations
  - 1938—PRM
- o Institutionalization of the Revolution--1940-76
  - 1940-46--Manuel Avila Camacho, PRI
  - 1946-52--Miguel Alemán, most conservative
  - 1952-58--Adolfo Ruiz Cortines, balanced
  - 1958-64--Adolfo López Mateos, leftist within the Revolution, 1958 rail-road strike repressed
  - 1964-70--Gustavo Díaz Ordaz, most repressive, Tlatelolco
  - 1970-76--Luis Echeverría, populism, nationalism, state expenditures, economic problems
- o Economic Crisis, 1976-88
  - 1976-82--José López Portillo, oil, corruption, bank nationalizations, debt, default
  - 1982-88--Miguel de la Madrid, economic austerity
- o Political Pluralism, 1988 and Onward
  - 1988-94--Carlos Salinas de Gortari
  - 1994-00--Ernesto Zedillo
  - 2000-06—Vicente Fox
  - 2006-12—Felipe Calderon
- MID-TERM STOPS HERE
  - o Democracy in Mexico, COHA
  - o Democracy in Mexico, CFR
  - o <u>Democracy in Mexico, CSIS</u>
  - o Tlatelolco and Democracy
- Mexican Political Parties
  - o PRI
    - Organized by 3 sectors
    - Party machine
    - Control and/or cooptation
    - Political balance
      - Pendulum effect
      - Conservative domestic vs. leftist foreign policy
    - Myth of the revolution
    - Challenges
      - Tecnicos vs. politicos
      - Transfer of power every six years
      - Inability to continue delivering the "economic miracle"

- Pent-up demands for internal and external democratization
- o PAN
  - 1939, roots in backlash to anti-clericalism of the 1920s
  - Business, north, urban, middle-class
  - Independent
  - Protest vote? Legitimizes the PRI?
- o PRD
  - Evolved from mid-1980s leftist split from PRI
  - Cuauhtemoc Cardenas
  - Urban, Mexico City
  - Greatest threat to the PRI?
- Electoral System
  - o 1918, Federal Election Law, literate and married males 18 or over OR literate and unmarried males 21 or over
  - o 1946, Federal Election Law, difficult for new parties
  - o 1953, women granted right to vote
  - o 1963, "party deputies" (proportional representation)
    - majority rule in single-member district in 178 electoral districts
    - any party with less than 20% of national vote qualifies for party deputies
  - o 1977, Chamber increased to 400—300 were traditional "majority" deputies—100 were elected by proportional representation from five regional party lists (if the party had less than 60 majority seats and had candidates in at least 100 of the single districts).
  - o 1986, expanded to 200 proportional representation seats, but majority party can win a share of the 200 (though its total cannot exceed 350 of the 500).
- Interest Groups and the State
  - o Authoritarianism and Pluralism
  - o Status in the PRI and Degree of Control: Labor, Peasants, "Popular," Military, Media, and Private Sector